You are here

DOMO-Scott team 2019

The DOMO-Scott triathlon team has high ambitions

This past week, the new DOMO-Scott team was introduced to the press. The ambitions of figurehead Pieter Heemeryck in particular are high. This year he became a professional athlete and soon hopes to become an established value in both the half and full triathlon. After his 5th place in the Ironman 70.3 World Championship 2018 and 4th place in the World Championship Challenge 2018, Pieter most certainly wants to hook up with the absolute world top in 2019. ‘Chasing Kona 2020’ is the new goal: qualifying for the Ironman World Championship in Hawaii.

“Pieter Heemeryck is a man with a mission who has made significant progress in the past 3 years. As a team and as main sponsor, we will do all we can to give him the right support and room to achieve that goal. We are absolutely convinced that Pieter has the potential," states Wim De Voeght (CEO DOMO Elektro).

Liesbeth Leysen is another striking athlete in the team – an AG (Age Group) triathlete who was able to win in her AG in both World Championships in 2018. In 2019 she will focus on the Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Nice, making her debut in long distances.

This past weekend, Sander Heemeryck, Pieter's younger brother, won the opening race of the Belgian triathlon circuit and in 2019 will focus more on the longer distances. He has recently begun training under Frederik Van Lierde, meaning that he has a coach with a great deal of experience behind him.

Another scoop is that duathlete Jan Petralia, after a few triathlons in 2018, is going a step further and has scheduled various triathlons. His chief goals, in addition to the championship duathlon, are the Belgian half triathlon in the Challenge at Geraardsbergen and the half triathlon at Gérardmèr.

In addition to the aforementioned athletes, the team consists of Wim De Voeght (CEO DOMO Elektro), Charlotte Verhaegen (World Championship 70.3 Nice), Thomas Derboven, Kaat Van Eynde, Jan-Willem Verhaegen, Boris ver Berne and the young athletes Naomi De Wyn, Siebe Philips and Cisse Duts.